A Dry and Thirsty Place

 

desert tree copy

 

A Conversation While Reading Psalm 63

O God, You are my God; early will I seek You
Early … not just in the first part of a day, but also in the first part of a difficulty. Help me, Lord, to not wait until I’m completely freaked out … spent of all my own frantic efforts before I call to You.  Early … that’s when  I will  seek You.
My soul thirsts for You
My mind, will, and emotions … really think about this.  What thoughts run around in my mind?  How much is the reality of God at work in my emotions? Or are my emotions owned with fear and worry?
My flesh longs for You . . .
My flesh … the me that is so full of humanity but often so deplete of spirituality.  All the cravings for companionship, excitement, adventure, affirmation, attention, entertainment, new “toys” … is my flesh really first and foremost craving God?   Then, why do I turn to these other pursuits to fill the void FIRST?)
. . . in a dry and thirsty land where there is no water
My search for You intensifies when all other resources dry up … when nothing else can fill. No water – what a dirty, wretched – even desperate –  place to be.  Life cannot be sustained without water.  And then, there is the ugly, discomfort of being unclean …. I hate it as much as I hate being thirsty.  Cleanse and fill me with the water that can only come from Heaven’s meadows.

My whole being longs for You in a dry and thirsty land where there is no water ...
My whole being longs for You in a dry and thirsty land where there is no water …

So I have looked for You in the sanctuary to see Your power and Your glory.
The sanctuary!  That still, isolate place where I all but feel Your breath on my cheek.  Equally, that place of gathering with others who seek You. Many times this has spoken to me of the power of Your House … of the Church … we who are your dwelling place … In a dry time I am foolish to stay isolated.  You urge me to look to Your Church where I will see Your power and glory.  Help me not to look at man as your church but to see YOU at WORK INSIDE OF MANKIND … there I will be lifted to a hopeful place.                                                                     

Because Your lovingkindness is better than life, my lips shall praise You.
Help me, Father, to cease whining.  Things go wrong in this world.  They always have, they always will.  But haven’t I seen repeated evidence of Your kindness? Haven’t I seen Your power?  Help me to stay focused on you … erase my unbelief!

Southwest Rainbow copy

 

One thought on “A Dry and Thirsty Place

  1. Shelly, this is beautiful! Thank you for sharing! I really like your description of “early”. Not just early in the morning, but early in the crisis….a very good reminder!

Leave a Reply

