SAusmus Photography

Mike’s Collapse – March 13

Last week I prayed about wanting to interact with people beyond  my predictable, well-formed bubble.  Today I spent an hour talking to a young woman about her marriage and raising kids.  She initiated the conversation, wanting to know if I had ever thought of walking out on my marriage. What kept me in it during the hardest times?

It turned into the very kind of raw, honest conversation I was hungering to have with someone who was soul searching … I just wasn’t planning on the setting.

This young woman was our nurse for the day and the conversation took place here, in St. Joe’s trauma ward.  We were sitting together, watching  Mike’s monitor, waiting for his blood pressure to decrease and hoping that we would see signs that he was going to wake up from day four of his coma. Something I’m still doing at this very moment … waiting.

Just a few moments ago I stepped out for a moment and found a man pacing in the hall, obviously distressed.  His wife was in a similar battle as Mike, only she had taken a turn for the worse.  We stood and prayed, two strangers, deeply bonded if only for five minutes, by crisis and a stripping away of all things  unimportant in our lives.

Yesterday morning, Sallie and I sat in the waiting room while nurses attended to Mike without us in the way.  A couple stumbled in, distraught; the man sighed heavily with anguish. Without thinking much about it, I stepped over and asked if they were okay … could I pray?  They shared the need and permitted the prayer … especially the man, who later said he didn’t believe but he welcomed anything at the moment.

When we first arrived last Monday, we shared the waiting room with a family who have been here for over three weeks; their brother having survived a blown aneurism.  Yesterday, another family squeezed into a surprisingly small and uncomfortable waiting room, their 26 year-old-son also an aneurism victim.

We feed each other … hug each other … tear up together … offer to help, even though we know we have nothing that could fix the real problem.

The bubble is burst … obliterated.  This wasn’t what I pictured when I prayed last week.

I already miss the bubble … BUT God is here.  My prayers aren’t  answered yet … there are tears … there is anxiety … there are unknowns … there is a constant flow of friends and strangers … there are relentless prayers … there are ancient promises that still have breath and life clinging to them … there is peace … there is hope … there is a bigger picture.

God IS here … farewell, bubble.

 

14 thoughts on “Mike’s Collapse – March 13

  1. Dear Shelly, How amazing our God is to weave whatever He is doing in Mike’s life at this time in with an answer to your bubble prayer! It is magnificent to hear how He is allowing you to bring Him glory in the midst of all this outward turmoil. I am sure you realize how upheld you and your family are in the prayers of so many. Remember that this is a privilege for us to be able to pray, and being so far away, I am especially grateful that there is something I can do . Thank you for sharing this insight into how God is working. Be strong and courageous in Him. I love you.

  2. Shelly,
    I hear through your writing this morning, so many words that bring me back to ICU Trauma last May. Gods people all around us with stories of needing God’s unending love. Which often comes through such a faith walk. To this very day I continue to see and hear of God’s miracles through our trials. I often found myself weak but not without faith.

    As you and Mike have always shared your consistent story of love and faith, He will reveal many, many lives He will touch through you.

    Shelly, I remember the day you shared a few details of your love for Mike. Discussing your courtship with many young teenagers, in chapel. A word very strong in my heart. One of great love and respect.

    May you continue strong, impacting the world around you.

    Through these moments that get so hard and tiring. Through the waiting you have so many prayer warriors that pray.

    Your words will continue to impact the world one piece at a time. The ripple effect.

    God’ healing to Mike through all of this. May your family be so encircled with His love. ❤️❤️❤️

    In His precious name,

    Your sister in Christ
    Esther

  3. I love you dear Shelly. God is indeed here! Thank you for sharing yourself with all of us in such open honesty at such a difficult time.
    ..And our dear Mike, one with you, sharing in each encounter. I envision him watching, listening,applauding heaven’s work in all of this. We are continuing to stand in prayer.

  4. God’s ways are certainly higher than our ways (Is. 55). The bubble bursting in this manner would never have been a first or distant choice if we were the one choosing. Nevertheless, in God’s hands, it becomes a fulfillment of His promises to you. Thanks for giving us a glimpse of how God is working.

  5. Shelly- Although we are praying for you from afar, we are still with you Sister. I long to run into you and Mike while on a walk in the harbor or at Home Depot. Waiting patiently, along side of you, while God and Mike do their thing…You and the girls by far have the hardest part in all of this. ❤️❤️love you Dear One…

  6. Shelly, this is such a beautiful post that shows a real-life application of Romans 8:28. “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” You and Mike have always been so encouraging to me and my family. While this wasn’t what you had in mind when you prayed last week, I’m glad that you can see God’s hand at work in all of this. Much love to you, Mike and your girls.
    -Carl

  7. Wow! You have such a gift! Thank you for sharing your journey with us. Amazing how the Lord uses us in our own pain to reach out to others in the midst of it. I believe He is meeting your EVERY need right now and is so pleased to have a “light” in that trauma ward. Rest in Him to meet your family’s EVERY need as you live out your faith…. He meets them all according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus. May God richly bless you, Mike, Molly and Sallie today as you watch Him work in Mike and all around you.

  8. Thank you for taking the time to share your heart Shelly. It’s amazing to me how you continue to love others in the midst of such a difficult time. We are praying for you, the girls, and Mike. Lord Jesus, please heal and restore Mike completely. Please comfort Shelly and the girls. Please provide good rest when needed. Please surround them with doctors and nurses who hear your voice. Please help us support them in ways that really help. In Jesus name, Amen.

  9. Shelly, we are praying. Thank you for sharing. I don’t even know what to say. Today I am grateful for my bubble…

  10. thank you for this. what a blessing you all are to that trauma ward. God’s light in an uncertain time for the families there (yourself included). He is your constant companion and the strength of your heart.(Ps 73: 25-26)

  11. Sweet Ausmus Family,

    I continually pray for you all as you take this journey of faith and struggle. The children at staff continue to pray for Mike’s recovery and believe God always answers prayer. His answer is always what we need and to His ultimate glory.

    I think back on all of the amazing times of prayer that both you and Mike offered for my family and I cannot express how much you are loved by us!

    Thank you, Shelly, for sharing your journey…so much hope and so much truth! Our God lives big in each of you.

Leave a Reply

