Mike - SAusmus Photography

Mike’s Collapse/Journey – March 18

Last week I posted about the “blunt doctor”.  Without his honesty I might have missed the full depth of the string of miracles poured on our family

“Doctor Blunt” felt it important to understand that the eye flutters and other movements that we were seeing, were not necessarily signs of brain activity.  “There is a strong chance that we are only seeing reflexes.”  He and the nurses, nodded cautiously whenever I pointed out Mike’s eye lids moving or his feet twitching. Deep down, I knew that they had every reason to be cautious.

It was a rough, rough day, sweetened by unexpected news.

The decision to do an MRI was a last resort procedure. If he would just wake up, they would know how the brain was doing and wouldn’t have to do it.

I saw the tension in the doctor’s eyes every time he mentioned the procedure.  I wasn’t to expect too much, he said in a million different ways, without really saying it.

The cardiologist’s assistant pulled us aside after one of the reports from the main doctor.  She was “Doctor Big Picture” and wanted us to understand that not knowing what to expect wasn’t necessarily a bad thing.

“Mike’s heart was in worse shape than we originally understood.” The night the ambulance brought him to the ER, his heart was working at 15%  … fifteen percent. “How was that even possible?” someone asked me as she tried to imagine how long he had been trying to function like that.

By the middle of the week, heart strength grew to 33%.  “See, we just don’t know what can happen,” she encouraged me.

I asked if the strength of his heart would improve any more.  “Possibly … maybe as much as 10%.  But there’s an equal chance that his heart will stay the same for the rest of his life, even with a device.”

Originally, they were going to insert a device that is both a pace maker and a defibrillator. By Friday, it was decided he really didn’t need that, so only a defibrillator would be inserted as soon as the breathing tube came out and was strong enough. He just needed to wake up.

As most of you know, he didn’t wake up … a good thing, because the MRI was done.  We rejoiced over the miracle that Mike’s brain did not show any damage from the cardiac arrest.  We were left challenged at the discovery of a tumor (benign).

Now, today, Wednesday, March 18th, the cardiologist report threw out another surprise.  Mike’s heart is  working at 55%.  Fifty-five percent!

“At 55%,  we consider him to have a normal heart,” the doctor said.

“Will he still need a defibrillator?”

“We don’t know yet. We’re thinking, no, but we’re not sure of our next steps.”

There are a couple of options, but the doctors don’t have a plan in the face of such marked, unexpected improvement. They will watch his progress and make a decision.

What exactly do you do in the midst of a miracle?

For me, I’ve spent the first of our mid-miracle days wrestling a disoriented, frustrated, extremely hungry (hangry) husband who risks hurting himself seriously if gets out of bed or eats something too soon.  I’ve cried watching his anguish, laughed seeing his antics, and praised God that even in a hard day … it is still and will always remain a miracle to revel in the rest of our days on this side of eternity.

 

One of my favorite pictures.

One of my favorite pictures.

7 thoughts on “Mike’s Collapse/Journey – March 18

  1. I want to thank you for taking the time out in the midst of all of this to blog about it. It is faith-building as I read these blogs; watching how God’s hand has been orchestrating all of this and the miracles that are occurring! Papa God … you are a good Daddy! We thank you for Mike’s life and for the further healing that you have for him. At the end of this journey, I pray that the medical staff involved and those just watching are left shaking the heads in wonderment! That is, except the ones who know YOU!

  2. Thank you for sharing such an informative blog on this journey. It allows us to prayerfully walk with you. I also appreciate the family pictures and amusing selfies! You and Mike will always have a special place in our hearts.

  3. As tears fill my eyes and my heart swells up I am once again taken away by the one and only miracle worker! Your husband, you and your girls walking through this with Gods glory hovering over you has and will continue to shout HIS name! Praising our God for every detail! love you guys!!

  4. Truly miraculous, we continue to pray for all of you. You are an inspiration as you go through this . I remember the comment one young man prayed for Mike, “Rise up man of God, my generation needs YOU!” That is a powerful statement of the impact Mike has already made on young people, and I’m sure Mike isn’t the only Ausmus making such a strong impact on a generation. God Bless each of you.

  5. This just makes me cry. How amazing. I say how amazing is our God? because all good things come from Him. How wonderful that you get to cry seeing him frustrated…the alternative? Life is very strange given all the different emotions, from one extreme to the other. Press on!!! xoxoxoxoxo

  6. I’m filled with lots of happiness about the good news coming! Mike your an amazing man! And I’m so sorry to see you go thru all this! And I’m sorry ausmus ladies for the trauma of it all! I would love to visit when the time is right! I know that he will continue to improve and get strong! I’m so grateful to the Lord for getting you all thru this! Hospital ice cream is amazing 🙂 oh and ice cubes when your dying of thirst:) hang in there buddy- love ya!

Leave a Reply

