You’re Just a Speck

“I’m insignificant… And the galaxy is a speck. I’m a speck on a speck orbiting a speck among other specks among still other specks in the middle of specklessness. I suck.”

Wonders

Well, that kind of ruined my day.  Driving home from the hospital several weeks ago, that pronouncement  blared at me from a talk show on the radio.  More depressing was that it came from the lovable, Bill Nye the Science Guy.

“Wow,”  I thought to myself, “In a culture that worships science … extols science as having  all the answers … a culture that insists that science and evolution makes me who I am … this is the final conclusion?  I suck?”

“Humankind may not be that special.”

Yep … Science Guy said that too.

Here I was, fighting for my husband’s recovery as we looked at a month-long stay in the hospital, and in the same season, praying for a handful of friends in dire, life-altaring crisis of their own, and now I was tempted to wonder why bother.  If we’re just little specks floating around in the middle of nothing-ness, seriously, why bother?

Then I shook myself, “What are you thinking in your head?!”  I didn’t believe that stuff anyway, why was I letting it get to me?  But still, I felt sad, because I look into the faces of people every single who day who believe that they are just happenstance and simply, they suck.

I have spent my life working with young people and nothing is more painful than watching them wrestle with life’s purpose, only to  decide there isn’t a purpose.  Worse, is a teen who decides she is worthless or becomes self absorbed and mean because … well, why shouldn’t she?

I get it … without Christ, we have nothing to boast of … nothing of value … nothing that would gain us audience with an Awe-inspiring, Unblemished, Holy God.  We are like dirty cleaning rags … washed up by our own sins and selfishness. Useless.

EXCEPT … (HUGE exception here) … over and over again God sees us through the filter of His Son. God’s ultra piercing vision allows Him to view who we are supposed to be sans sin.  Oh, to put on His glasses every time I look at humanity around  me, or even simply, when I look into the mirror.

“I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
Marvelous are Your works,
And that my soul knows very well.”

I can say this, because it is how our Heavenly Father made me … fearfully and wonderfully. It is how He sees me because I walk in the shadow of the cross.

Science should make us marvel at this human life.  Out of all of the wonders and mysteries of the universe, humans stand unique and special … able to be caretakers of the world … not dusty little particles that mean nothing. We have a soul; something that science just plain doesn’t know what to do with, so it’s usually dismissed.  Our soul  makes us unique among all scientific wonders.

Fearfully & Wonderfully Made
Fearfully & Wonderfully Made

While Mr. Nye depressed me, leave it to a kid’s movie to inspire.  I can’t say enough about Inside Out (well … except for the corny, short flick before the movie … definitely not usual Pixar standards.)  A unique, well-made movie without political undertones and without bathroom humor or innuendoes, Inside Out celebrates family (a rare movie that actually makes both mom and dad look good).  More importantly, it captures how wonderfully and fearfully we are designed with all of our emotions, capabilities, stages of life, need for relationships, and on and on. We might each be a just a speck, but we’re pretty darn remarkable specks.

I can’t help but think what Science Guy’s conclusion  must look like from an angel’s perspective.  I picture a bevy of angels peering at earth past all the stars and planets … past the sun … beyond majestic mountains, happy streams, and  vast oceans … through jungles and forests and wheat fields and deserts and canyons … next to giraffes and hippos and aardvarks and turtles and parrots and kangaroos and cows and goats and woodpeckers and centipedes and praying mantis …  past ice storms and tornados and blazing sunrises … to see that speck of a speck on a speck (known by God … every hair numbered … every day accounted for) raising his fist and shouting, “There is no Creator.”  “We suck!”

Wonder if the thunder I heard recently is those angels having a good laugh on us.  They should.

One thought on “You’re Just a Speck

  1. My daughter’s favorite Presidential hopeful 😦 Bernie Sanders says, “When we reject science, we become the laughing stock of the world,” What does he know?

Leave a Reply

