six minutes of escape

Six Minutes of Escape

“`God’s in His heaven, all’s right with the world,’ whispered Anne softly.” – Anne of Green Gable/Robert Browning

A sunny day escape in the Pacific Northwest makes me feel like God is certainly in His heaven … that truly, all is right with the world.  So that’s what we did over Martin Luther King Jr. Day weekend; took a rambling drive into the Olympic Peninsula and (re-) explored the town of Poulsbo.

We don’t always do “getting away” well.  Sometimes stuff follows us and the car becomes a verbal boxing ring on wheels.  In fact, some of the best marriage advice we ever received was that before an extended vacation, schedule a dinner out for the sole purpose of a pre-vacation “fight”.  Maybe others aren’t like us, but so much stress can build just from the process of getting away that as soon as the two of us are alone in a room (or a car), all of the ugly comes out. Without the pre-vacation fight, a whole day or two of down time can be lost trying to resolve issues that merit attention, but are such a nuisance on days meant for fun.

Thankfully, our single day trip to Poulsbo didn’t need a pre-session.  We were so thankful to drive away from pill bottles, blood pressure cuffs, phone calls to make, and overthinking, that we quickly eased into a day of reflection and appreciation.  It was like a true, Biblical Sabbath.

We started the drive in prayer; some for ourselves … some for others … much for our nation.  Then we just talked.  We thought a little about the future; drove past our old house in Gig Harbor and wrestled a little with nostalgia.  A few “what ifs” and “if onlys” tried to commandeer our thoughts. Then we stopped ourselves and just took in the day … six minutes at a time. The future will come as God gives it to us.  The past is no longer available. So here is what being present just six minutes at a time brought our way.

six minutes of escape
“Bird in the mirror.” (Pouslbo)
six minutes of escape
The naval shipyards in Bremerton, WA. (Seen from Port Orchard.)
six minutes of escape
Post Christmas. A bit of the holiday lingers in one of the famed bakeries in Poulsbo.
six minutes of escape
My handsome husband. Very glad to escape for awhile.
six minutes of escape
Poulsbo’s Harbor near sunset.
six minutes of escape
Dogs like window shopping too. (Poulsbo)
six minutes of escape
It was so cold out! But this view fooled us into thinking that summer must be close by.
six minutes of escape
A cool shop in Pouslbo; full of glass tiles, just waiting to be made into something beautiful.
six minutes of escape
Showing off
six minutes of escape
Ferries passing

 

 

 
We have a friend who is going through something similar to what we did the first and most recent times Mike was admitted to the hospital. She is wedged smack into the middle of the craziness.  After several surgeries, her husband is being super slow about waking up from sedation.  The unknowns are piling up, and there is no escape on a sunny day; just a room full of monitors, medicines, and best guesses.  And waiting. There’s a whole of of waiting.

In her shoes, I sometimes scrolled through pictures like these and of others living life and reminded myself that better days are coming.  God IS in His heaven. Yet, thankfully, His “holy hill” is not so far away that He cannot hear and that He cannot reach.

I cried aloud to the LORD,
and He answered me from His holy hill.  Psalm 3:4b

From the end of the earth will I cry unto you, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.  Psalm 61:2

Thank you everyone who has been reading, commenting, and sharing as well as “liking” on FB.  For some reason, my last blog, “Six Minutes – The Angry Side of Miracles” did not seem to send to everyone on the email subscription.  I think the problem is fixed, but if you struggle to open any emails, please let me know.  Also, if you read this on FB, but would like to receive email notifications, please sign up above.  It is the best way to receive articles and to comment.  I appreciate you!

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Six Minutes of Escape

  1. Having lost my Dad to pancreatic cancer just one week ago and having a mother who continues her 2+ year long battle with Metastatic Breast Cancer (Bone Cancer), I appreciate your 6 minute perspective. Sometimes, 6 minutes is as much as anyone can do. Six minutes at a time…breathe…6 more minutes…breathe. I’m so happy to see that you and Mike are getting out and living life, 6 minutes at a time. **From the end of the earth I will I cry unto you, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I. Psalm 61:2 AMEN!!

  2. Oh, Tana, so sorry to hear of your recent loss and the ongoing battle your mother faces. I pray that even so close to pain and grief, that you are finding sweet respites, full of peace and rest. Thanks for sharing. Mike and I will add you and your family to our prayers.

  3. Shelly,
    The perspective change on life is so different after walking out crisis, isn’t it? Getting out of the walls and purposefully getting away can feed the soul…taking notice of what He has placed before you in that moment to enjoy is like opening gifts from God himself…sometimes as I take notice of them I say “Thank you Lord, I see that.” They may not have been place there just for me, but it sure feels like it. 🙂

    I have always enjoyed your writing. Two lines struck me as truth for my own life as well…”The future will come as God gives it to us. The past is no longer available.” Moving forward with the Lord and whatever He has one day at a time with His help…it is how we walked out our years of crisis and losses of loved ones…it is how God wants us to live life now as well. Fully dependent on Him…trusting Him fully with it all. He IS good and faithful still…and worthy to be praised ALWAYS! Those two lines have spurred revelation from God in my own life and heart…the letting go completely and trusting like you never have before are both scary and liberating. The more we practice it…it is more the latter.

    Much love to you both…thank you for sharing your journey.

    1. Jode, I have high regards for your perspectives. You are one of my inspirations, knowing how much pain has filled the path of your journey at times, yet you always dig in and find a gem of truth or hope or kindness … or something that reflects God’s gracious works. Thanks for “stopping in” and sharing.

  4. I cried aloud to the LORD,
    and He answered me from His holy hill. Psalm 3:4b

    From the end of the earth will I cry unto you, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I. Psalm 61:2

    These two scriptures were a big part of my walking with Breast Cancer twice, with the addition of …

    Psalm 46:1 God is our refuge and strength, A very present help in trouble.

    I’ve never had an understanding of how people walk through the traumas of life without the help of the LORD, His word and His PEOPLE! I am so thankful for the family of God ❤ … as I know all of you are. So glad that you are all a part of my extended family! I love all the pictures too 🙂

    1. Linda, Psalm 46 was a passage I clung to like no other time in my life, this last time that Mike was in the hospital. I sat in the hospital chapel the first day, after the two code blues and the crazy events at our house that started it all … and I prayed through the entire passage several times, the words soaking in as if they were written just for my family. You have been a cheerful part of our healing journey this last two years … thanks for reaching out even while working through your own challenges. You and John bless us!

Leave a Reply

